Home

Our focus

Economic inequality shapes our times. Research training group 2281 provides a unique research environment that brings together ambitious doctoral students, expert members of the University of Bonn econ faculty, and external academics. RTG 2281 is funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG).

The research program focuses on the macroeconomic aspects of inequality, an aspect of first-order importance for society. What are the facts of inequality that matter for macroeconomic outcomes? How shall fiscal, financial, and monetary policy take account of the trends in inequality?

The website guides the general public toward our research results. In addition, it serves to inform prospective students and fellow academics. We welcome inquiries from each of these groups!

1st European Midwest Micro/Macro Conference (EM3C)
Call for Papers

On October 05-06, 2018, the 1st European Midwest Micro/Macro Conference (EM3C) will take place in Bonn. The conference will focus on the role of microdata for macroeconomics. Microdata for the purposes of EM3C is broadly defined and includes (but is not limited to) survey data, administrative data, experimental data, expectations data, etc. Work with new, previously unexplored microdata is especially welcome. The macro part of EM3C is also broadly defined and includes growth and business cycle topics, fiscal and monetary policy, consumption, investment, labor topics, price setting, sentiment and uncertainty research, etc.

The conference is hosted by the Institute of Macroeconomics and Econometrics of Bonn University. EM3C is a joint initiative of Rüdiger Bachmann (University of Notre Dame), Scott R. Baker (Northwestern University Kellogg School of Management), Kyle Herkenhoff (University of Minnesota), Kurt Mitman (Stockholm University Institute for International Economic Studies), and Michael Weber (The University of Chicago Booth School of Business) and the local organizers.

Please find here the program for the 1st EMMM Conference, October 5-6 2018

Further questions regarding EM3C can be addressed to the conference organizers:
Rüdiger Bachmann rbachman@nd.edu
Scott R. Baker  s-baker@kellogg.northwestern.edu
Christian Bayer christian.bayer@uni-bonn.de
Benjamin Born born@uni-bonn.de
Kyle Herkenhoff  kyle.herkenhoff@gmail.com
Kurt Mitman kurt.mitman@iies.su.se
Moritz Kuhn mokuhn@uni-bonn.de
Michael Weber Michael.Weber@chicagobooth.edu

submission for papers closed

News And Events